TiVo: A Total Addiction

9 Sep

Before I moved to L.A., F was all about “we will need 2 TV’s.” I didn’t really see it. Isn’t  1 TV, with Tivo’s 2 lovely recorders, enough? Well, the second we got back home from Kauai (more on this trip in another post!), F. turned on a football game and relaxed on couch while I ran around unpacking and sweating and with a grumpy face. I think I have an anti-football- on-TV disease. Just the loud cheering and annoying commentators and whistles blowing every 2 seconds really irks me. He considerately let me watch an InspectorLewis Mystery and took a break from football after seeing my pouty face. That lovely couple moment would not have been possible without TiVo. Francis was able to tape the game; I was able to access my saved Inspector Lewis Episode.

However.

There is a LOT of new exciting Fall programming. While F is out running errands, I miraculously was able to add to my record list several new fall shows WITHOUT there being a recording conflict (Fellow TiVo users will agree that that is indeed miraculous). 3 new shows that weren’t yet available to record, as they are premiering in late Sept, are: Person of Interest, Prime Suspect, and Apartment 23. 2 of my stand-by shows also weren’t available yet: Grey’s Anatomy & Private Practice. Hmm. I smell a potential conflict. F hasn’t even put in any of his new things yet… which is why he is jonesing for TiVo’s newest product: TiVo Premiere Elite, with 4 tuners, and 2TB of storage. I had no idea was “TB” was– it means “tetrabyte.” Well, okay. This little puppy costs $499. Yeah. That’s what I said. However, in the name of a harmonious home, we may have to seriously consider it come Xmas- list time. The fact that I’m even thinking about how to keep “my home harmonious” is very odd to me,  but I am rolling with it. One day at a time!

Needless to say, we wouldn’t get rid of the current TiVo. Oh no. Perish the thought. We would simply add it to the eventual second TV. Never mind that there is no room in our apartment for a second TV. It’s okay, every man must have his dreams 🙂

Leave a comment